At the top of the mountain

2 Dec

This is what the top of the mountain looks like. It was a misty, rainy day in Marakele, and the clouds only just began to clear after I arrived.

Top of the mountain

Did I find what I was looking for? I’m not sure yet – I suspect I need to do some processing, and writing as I am now, hunched over my laptop in a parking lot in Thabazimbi, is not conducive to mellifluous prose. But one thing is clear: that this was as much about the journey there and back as the destination itself.

This is the journey there, in the rain, on a very narrow and dangerous road:

Road there

And this is the view from the journey back, as the sun started to appear:

Road back

 

One thing I do know: I should have spent today working. I am glad I decided to drive to the top of a mountain instead.

One Response to “At the top of the mountain”

  1. peterthevet December 2, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    “The traveler sees what he sees. The tourist sees what he has come to see.” I think you were the former today?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

