Bongi Cala, corner Rivonia Road and 12th Avenue

28 Nov

Bongi Cala

Bongi Cala is the saddest woman I have ever met. Perhaps that’s because I met her on a Friday afternoon towards the end of another long day begging at the corner of Rivonia Road and 12th Avenue. Born in the Eastern Cape in 1969, she was orphaned at an early age and moved to Ivory Park in 1992.

She told me she makes between R100 and R150 a week from begging. I was only able to give her R20 because I’d run out of cash by then, but I make a point of giving her something whenever the robots are red and she is there.

Leave a Reply

